The Old Testament is also called the Tanakh (sometimes spelled Tanach, Tenak or Tenakh) and the Miqra or Masoretic Text. **The Old Testament is grouped into three main groups**.

The first group includes the first five books of the Bible (Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy) and is called the "Books of Moses", "Pentateuch" or "Torah" which means "Teaching". In it's widest sense, the name "Torah" can also be used in reference to the entire Old Testament.

The Next grouping is called the "Nevi'im" or "Prophets" which is then broken down into three sections. The first of these sections is called the "Former Prophets" which includes the books Joshua, Judges, 1st and 2nd Samuel and 1st and 2nd Kings. The next section in the "Prophets" is called the "Later Prophets" and includes the books of Isaiah, Jeremiah and Ezekiel. The last section in the "Nevi'im" or "Prophets" is called the "Minor Prophets" or "The Twelve

Prophets". This section includes the books of Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah and Malachi. The term "Minor Prophets" in no way suggests that these prophets were less important. It is simply in reference to the size of the books. The books of the "Minor Prophets" are much smaller than the books of the "Former Prophets" and "Later Prophets". Also the terms "former" and "later" should not be interpreted to mean these prophets lived before or after any of the others. In fact some of the books of the "Minor Prophets" are thought to have been written before some of the "Former" and "Later Prophets".

The final grouping in the Tanakh is called the "Ketuvim" which means "Writings" and is broken down into three groups. The books of 1st and 2nd Chronicles are grouped to form one book called "Chronicles". Ezra and Nehemiah are grouped together to form one book called "Ezra-Nehemiah". These 2 books (Chronicles and Ezra-Nehemiah) are grouped together with the book of Daniel to form a group called the "Other books". The next group is called the "Three Poetic **Books**" and contains the books of Job, Psalms, Proverbs. The final grouping is called the "Five Megillot" or "Five **Scrolls**" which contains the books of Ruth, Esther, Ecclesiastes, Song of Solomon and Lamentations.

The New Testament is grouped into four sections. The first of which is called the **"Gospels" or "Good News"** and consist of the books of Mathew, Mark, Luke and John. These books are all about the life of Christ Jesus, and contain the majority of **"Red Letter Text"**, which denotes a direct quote of Christ Jesus.

The second section is called the "Acts of the Apostles" and contains the book of Acts. The third section is called the "Epistles" or "Letters" and contains the books of Romans, 1 Corinthians, 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1 Thessalonians, 2 Thessalonians, 1 Timothy, 2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon, Hebrews, James, 1 Peter, 2 Peter, 1 John, 2 John, 3 John and Jude. The final section is called the "Apocalypse" and contains the book of Revelation.

The Bible is written much as an artist might paint a portrait. For example an artist might draw an outline or sketch first, then fill in the details as the painting progresses. The books of the bible are written in a similar manner. While reading the Bible, you will often notice that the outline of a story will be told and then the story will be either, repeated with more detail, or expounded upon. The first two chapters of the Bible are a perfect example of this early Hebrew style of writing. Genesis 1:1 through 2:3 tells the events of creation in chronological order. The remainder of Genesis chapter 2 then retells some of those events in greater detail. Comparatively, the the Old Testament is a precursor to, and outlines the message of the New Testament. In essence the Old Testament contains the veiled message of the New testament

Some Bible History

The history of the Bible can be very confusing, and is laden with various theories on who canonized what, and when, and for what religious order. For the sake of simplicity, we will say the canons for what would become the King James version of the Bible were complete well before 1604. In 1604 King James I of England authorized a new translation of the Bible into English. Prior to this, the penalty for those caught translating the Bible into English was death. The Bible that we now refer to as the King James version was completed and published in 1611.

Bible Structure

The Bible consists of two sections or testaments. The Old Testament which consist of 39 books, and the New Testament which consist of 27 books. Each of the books of the Bible in both the Old and New Testaments is further broken down into chapters. Then each chapter is finally broken down into verses. When two people are discussing the Bible, they will often refer to a particular paragraph or sentence by it's Book, Chapter and verse. For instance the first verse in the Bible would be referred to as Genesis 1:1, which means: The book of Genesis, Chapter 1 and verse 1

For more information on this topic and many more, please visit the website: Godmadeus.com

This pamphlet is made possible by the Grace of God and is provided by GodMadeUs.com.

© Copyright 2014 by GodMadeus.com and Robby Lockeby All Rights Reserved.

All content and graphics may be distributed freely, provided that the content is not altered and this copyright information is included with the content and/or graphics. You may not, in any way, collect money for this content or the graphics.

GodMadeUs.com

Bible Basics



This informational pamphlet gives the reader a basic understanding of how the Bible is laid out and what the various parts of Scripture are called.

GodMadeUs.com